A fine WordPress.com site

Today was our PRE Wedding Day party for all friends and family directly involved to get to meet and know one another.  We walked back to my Aunt and Uncles property to the “pond” where (weather permitting) our ceremony will be.  Our photographer (my co-worker Derek) agreed to join us to do Kirk and my engagement pictures and each family that joined us yesterday had Derek take professional portraits of them all!  I also got to see some co-workers whom I’ve missed dearly (Amanda and Darlene) and Kirk’s best man was able to meet everyone else (as he’s not an avid facebooker where everyone else is staying in touch).

Health wise, life is generally good with still odd fluctuations in what I can eat, from anywhere to about a cup (or a bit more if I eat slow) or a few bits of something.  I try to stay strong with the rules around only natural sugars and protein first and mostly.  My weight has remained mostly stalled at 40lbs to 42lbs lost over the last 2.5 weeks.  Frustrating but I keep telling myself that I should feel lucky as 40lbs in 6.5 weeks is a wonderful amount.  I also and more so than the numbers struggle with my appearance (what I don’t see) in 40lbs less.  The clinic warned us that we would go through this and I am.  I know I’m one size down and see a bit in my face but overall I wonder where the 40lbs hid all these years.  I’ve pushed my luck and tried some sweets today (as our “cake lady” for the wedding provided us with 4 cake choices to sample in 40 cupcakes).  I’ve had no reaction to todays small sample or a few bites of a cheese cake on Thursday night at my retreat in Calabogie, which I also have mixed feelings about.  I would almost prefer the discouragement of feeling ill (dumping syndrome) from eating sugar (not natural) but maybe because I’ve only ever tried small quantities.  On a positive note, I have no desire to be crazy with sweats, only tiny amounts and twice in 6 weeks.  Greasy foods is something I have no desire to do so I’m not sure my body’s reaction to those items!  Just tonight I read some blogs from fellow bypass troupers and there’s some theme to the feeling that your body will mostly police you in the first 6 – 9 month by making you feel ill if you make poor eating choices but after that, it’s all on ‘you’ to choose protein, healthy, small quantities and exercise as your body does less in the ‘policing’ department.  If that’s true, I guess it’s best that I adjust to making the right choices just because, not because my body makes me feel full (which essentially I’m doing now anyways).

The pictures below include (in order) Mikey with Kirk’s Mom Sheila, Myself and Amanda (my wedding day support planner person), Tammy my sister in law and myself (wedding day planner as well), Kirk’s Mom Sheila and I, Erin (Maid of Honour) and I and Kirk with Mikey.

20130609_150318 20130609_150358 20130609_150415 20130609_150433 20130609_150515 20130609_153024

Leave a comment